







WAY V - WORLD YOUTH AWARD

12 DECEMBER 2009

MELAKA, MALAYSIA







BACKGROUND

The World Assembly of Youth (WAY) on its 40th Anniversary instituted the World Youth Award to encourage National Youth Councils to become central agents in nation building and to commit themselves to addressing social and economic development of young people in their countries. The World Youth Award honors outstanding national youth council movements and illustrates the examples and models that they set for the world.

The then Prime Minister of Malaysia, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, became the sponsor and patron of the award and supported all the past four ceremonies.

The World Youth Award is awarded to the youth organization at the national level that has made excellent, noteworthy and effective contributions in national youth development. The Award is also presented to outstanding individuals who have contributed to the advancement of the cause of young people and inspire them.

OBJETIVES 2.

The objectives of the World Youth Award are:

- 1. To evaluate the success of national youth movements in promoting social and economic development;
- 2. To provide incentives to youth organizations to work harder in achieving greater success in their youth development agendas;
- 3. To inculcate the spirit of self-reliance amongst national youth movements;
- To encourage youth movements to play major roles in highlighting challenges of 4. youths and in attempting to solve as many of them as possible.
- To accelerate the involvement of youth in nation building; 5.
- 6. To honor outstanding individuals who are exemplary and inspirational to young people worldwide.







3. CRITERIA FOR THE AWARD

The award is open to all national youth councils. The panel of judges considers the following criteria for the evaluation of each participating organization:

- Leadership Effectiveness
- Organizational Structures
- Management Systems
- Utilization of Resources
- Quality of Membership
- Effectiveness and Impact of Programmes

4. THE AWRD CEREMONY

The Award Ceremony the 5th WAY World Youth Award was held in Melaka, Malaysia, during the 60th Anniversary of the World Assembly of Youth. This took place on December 12, 2009. The ceremony was attended by national youth councils and government officials from all member countries and affiliated organizations of the World Assembly of Youth.

5. THE AWARD

The award trophy called WAY – PRIME MINISTER OF MALAYSIA WORLD YOUTH AWARD along with a Certificate, was donated by the Prime Minister of Malaysia.

6. ORGANISERS

The 5th WAY World Youth Award was organized jointly by the World Assembly of Youth (WAY), Ministry of Youth and Sports of Malaysia and the Malaysian Youth Council.







7. PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS

The first WAY- Prime Minister of Malaysia World Youth Awards were presented in 1990 in a ceremony attended by representatives of youth organizations from more than 35 countries as well as UN representatives. It was Held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The winners were:

- Winner: Malaysian Youth Council
- 1st Runner up: Peruvian National Youth Council
- 2nd Runner up: Pakistan Cresent Youth Organization

The second WAY- Prime Minister of Malaysia World Youth Awards were presented in 1993. That took place in conjunction with the 12th WAY General Assembly and during the WAY International Workshop on Adolescent Health in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The awards ceremony was attended by representatives of youth organizations from more than 55 countries and by UN representatives. The winners were:

- Winner: Slovakia Youth Council
- 1st Runner up: Zimbabwe Youth Council
- 2nd Runner up: Indian Committee of Youth Organization

The World Assembly of Youth held the third WAY- Prime Minister of Malaysia World Youth Awards while 120 government leaders were attending the World Summit for Social Development in Copenhagen, Denmark on March 10, 1995. The winners were:

- Winner: Norwegian Youth Council
- 1st Runner up: Mongolian Youth Federation
- 2nd Runner up: Nigerian Youth Council







mibia

The fourth WAY- Prime Minister of Malaysia World Youth Awards were presented in 2005. They took place in conjunction with the 14th WAY General Assembly in Windhoek, Namibia. The awards ceremony was attended by representatives of youth organizations from more than 50 countries and by UN representatives.

The winners were:

•	Winner:	Gambia National Youth Council
•	1 st Runner – up:	Mauritius Youth Council
•	2 nd Runner –up:	Croatian National Youth Council
•	Outstanding Individual Award:	His Excellency Dr. Sam Nujoma,
		Former President of the Republic of Nar

The **Fifth WAY-Prime Minister of Malaysia World Youth Awards Ceremony** and Gala Dinner was held at Dewan Seri Negeri, on 12 December 2009 in conjunction with the WAY 60th Anniversary Celebration, in Melaka, Malaysia. The awards ceremony was attended by former WAY Executive Committee Members, youth leaders, representatives of youth organizations from more than 56 countries and by UN representatives.

The winners were:

- Winner National Council of Youth Organisations in Korea
- 1st Runner Up National Youth Council of Namibia
- 2nd Runner Up National Organsiation of Libyan Youth

The winner of the Outstanding Individual Award was **Mr. Ole Lovig Simonsen**, former President of the World Assembly of Youth, who was conferred the **World Youth Award for Exemplary and Visionary Leadership during his time in WAY.** This was presented to Mr. Ole by Minister of Youth and Sports Malaysia, Hon. Dato' Ahmad Shabery bin Cheek , during the Gala Dinner of the WAY 60th Anniversary Celebration.







During this round of awards, a special award for individuals was introduced. There were 20 youth leaders that got awarded during this ceremony for their contribution in WAY and in their representative countries or areas of expertise for the development of youth. The winners were as follows:

1.	Mr. Arthur Gillette	USA
2.	Hon. Tolorunjuwon Joseph Faniyi	Nigeria
3.	Mr. TS. Zorigtbaatar	Mongolia
4.	Dr. Kwang-Sun Cha	Korea
5.	Hon. Moammar Mutahar Mohamed Al-Eryani	Yemen
6.	Prof Ranganathan J	India
7.	Mr. Khalid M. Farouk	Sri Lanka
8.	Mr. Shiv Khare	India
9.	Dato' Hj Hasan bin Malek	Malaysia
10.	Datuk Seri Panglima Hj Lajim bin Hj Ukin	Malaysia
11.	Dato' Fuad hj Hassan	Malaysia
12.	Dato' Seri Mohd Tajol Rosli Mohd Ghazali	Malaysia
13.	Datuk Drs. Hj Jamaludin Abd. Rahim	Malaysia
14.	Mr. Ronald Waarde	Suriname
15.	Revd. N N Nanyak	Nigeria
16.	Mr. Stig Fog Jensen	Denmark
17.	Mr. Joyti Shankar Singh	India
18.	Mr. James Chui	China
19.	Mr. Amir Gharib	Egypt
20.	Mr. Albert Otruba	Slovakia